larfleeze-issue-1

This blog is usually about just reviews, but today I want to talk about something that is irking me.  So this is more like an opinion post than an actual review.  So if you are just looking for another one of my reviews, you may want to skip this post.

I started liking the character of Larfleeze back when he showed up in Agent Orange, which was a prequel to Blackest Night.  When I heard he was getting his own comic I had to get my hands on it right away!

I’ll admit that the comic itself wasn’t that great.  The story was a little lame and the artwork wasn’t that greatest either, but it had Larfleeze in it!  He was greedy, he was self-centered and he was a textbook narcissist, just the way his fans loved him!

The comic was supposed to have a 13 issue run, but only 12 issues were every written and released to the public.  Apparently the sales numbers on the comic just kept going down and down until they dropped below the line of 20,000 copies sold every issue and the book was cancelled.  This was really annoying to me.  Sure the book wasn’t the greatest and the plot was pretty cartoony at times, but come on!  You couldn’t dig into the DC coffers and squeeze out one more issue?

As a fan of the series and DC Comics, I feel like they owe us the fans that final issue!  Plus I feel like once a series is started that even if the sales are horrible, the publisher should at least give us an ending to the story!

Another example of when this happened was when Image Comics ended the run of “Transformers: More Than Meets the Eye,” right in the middle of a storyline and left us hanging.  The last page of the last issue hinted at the reveal of a major character in the next issue but we never got it.  It’s just annoying to me as a comic book reader and I hate when comic book publishers do this.

Any other comic book fans have any opinions on this?  Let me know in the comments.  Anyway thanks for listening and letting me blow off some steam.

