Carnage USA

I missed this series when it was in stores as the individual comics, so I picked this up at my local library to check it out.

***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS***

The story has Carnage out west and he has found a small Colorado town and has infected the whole town and taken control of them. It’s explained that he did this by devouring hundreds of cattle and using their meat and blood to grow the symbiote.

S.H.I.E.L.D. then dispatches Spider-Man, Captain America, Wolverine, Hawkeye, and The Thing. All the Avengers are infected except for Spider-Man and he retreats and finds the resistance living in a compound with an electrified fence that keeps Carnage out. S.H.I.E.L.D. then goes to their back up plan and sends in several other symbiotes to try and take out Carange. They almost fail, but then their ace in the hole arrives in the form of VENOM!!! My favorite marvel anti-hero!

With his help, the other symbiotes team up with Spidey and free the Avengers and take the fight to Carnage. The comic comes down to Venom vs. Carnage and he is defeated. Venom wants to kill Carnage and end his reign of terror but he doesn’t and brings him in alive because that is what Spidey would do and Spidey is essentially Flash Thompson’s idol.

***END SPOILERS*** ***END SPOILERS*** ***END SPOILERS***

The story is overall pretty good and I loved that we had so much symbiote action in this story. However what I didn’t like was that the colors were all very dark and there were a lot of shades of grey and sometimes that made it hard to tell which symbiote I was looking at. Also Venom’s eyes looked like they were too far apart sometimes and it looked a little silly.

Other than these minor complaints, it’s a pretty good story and I’m glad I picked it up. Check it out!

3 Stars

