Scoundrels

I love Timothy Zhan, I really do! His Heir to the Empire trilogy was in my opinion the greatest Star Wars story ever told, second only to the works of George Lucas himself. I also loved his other works, The Hand of Thrawn Duology, Choices of One, Outbound Flight, Survivor’s Quest, etc.

But this book was just missing something that made his other works amazing. I can’t describe it, but parts of it were honestly just boring. The heist that the book is building up to since page one doesn’t really get started until about 300 pages in of this 441 page book. Even then the action isn’t really all that great and at parts I had to force myself to keep reading the story and not put this book down.

The overall story is kinda interesting and I will admit that it’s interesting to see Han, Lando, Chewie, Winter, and some of Zhan’s other characters working together to pull off a heist. Not to mention that hearing Han’s driving goal of paying off Jabba the Hutt in order to be free of him was pretty cool and was the perfect motivation for his character.

I will say that the reveal at the very end of book in the very last sentence comes completely out of left field and will be appreciated by any fans of the Star Wars genre.

All in all it’s an interesting story, but it’s just not as good as Zhan’s earlier works.

Check it out!

3 Stars

