Image

 

I picked up this game used on a whim, and it was one of the best gaming related decisions I’ve made in years.  Seriously, this game is one of the best open world games that I have ever played in my entire gaming career!

 

The targeting with the weapons is great, the control when you are riding the horses is excellent, and the ease with which you can change weapons is terrific!  I also enjoyed the fact that your actions affected how people would react to you.  I loved the honor and fame game mechanics and how they affected the gameplay.

 

The graphics are out of this world and the cinematics are practically movie quality.  Just looking at the beard and scars on John Marston’s face you can really tell how much work went into making this game.

 

Moving on to the story, it’s one of if not the BEST western story that I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. 

 

***SPOILERS***  ***SPOILERS***  ***SPOILERS***

 

The idea that someone who I can only assume is a Texas Ranger, using a former gang member to help track down and bring his former gang members to justice was just awesome!  The different characters that John met along his journey were all unique and interesting and helped make the game a great experience.  I liked that John not only got his family back, but also he got to do missions for them and with them as well.  The ending did make me sad thought, seeing John meet his demise almost made me throw my controller across the room.  But when I saw his son avenge his death made me cheer with joy!

 

***END SPOILERS***  ***END SPOILERS***  ***END SPOILERS***

 

Practically every mission you undertake helps to unlock different activities in the game such as jobs you can do for money, activities you can do for fun and profit, weapons and horses you can buy at the local stores, etc.  And speaking of the activities, there are so many cool things you can do!  Horse-breaking, arm-wrestling, hunting, horse shoes, poker, blackjack, liar’s dice, bounty hunting, treasure hunting, horse racing.  All of these are things you can do over and over again, and not only are they fun, you get paid for doing them and some of them even give you a little bit of fame as well.

 

I will admit that the loot system isn’t really all that great, the guys you kill never really have anything good on them other than just a few dollars and a couple of rounds of ammo.  And if you play your cards right, you never have to buy any ammo because you can just loot it off of the bodies of the dead.  Just conserve your ammo in combat and you’ll be just fine.

 

All in all, this game was out of this world!  I really don’t like Westerns, but this story and the gameplay made this game mind-blowing!  Rock Star knocked it out of the park with this one, and any gamer who loves open world gaming will love this game.

 

Check it out!

 

5 Stars

