Okay I bought and read ALL the original Genshiken manga books, the Genshiken novel (God that sucked), and all the Genshiken DVD’s and the all the Kujibiki Unbalance stuff as well. So when I saw that there was a sequel to my favorite manga, I HAD to get my hands on them ASAP!

***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS***

Right off the bat we have Ohno, Oguie, Susie, and Kuchi and we are introduced to a few new otaku as well. My favorite of the new otaku are Yoshi and Hato. The other one just doesn’t seem to have anything about her that’s very interesting other than wanting Hato to stop cross-dressing.

We do have appearances by Madarame, Sasahara, Kasukabe, and a few of our old favorites as well, but the main focus of the book is on the new Genshiken members. Oguie is still writing her doujinshi and getting published on a regular basis. Madarame is still working hard at his job and once in a while stops by the Genshiken club room and is still in love with Kasukabe. Ohno of course is still with Tanaka and is obsessed with her cosplay, just the way we like her!

The story is really what we like about the Genshiken, it’s them doing what they love, comics, cosplay, quoting obscure anime, hanging out between classes and talking about nerdy things while helping each other with their personal projects.

***END SPOILERS*** ***END SPOILERS*** ***END SPOILERS***

The only thing I didn’t like about this was that the characters I loved from the original series are mostly in the background and have very little to do with the new storyline. However I’m quickly learning to love these new characters almost as much as the original cast.

Check it out!

4 Stars

