Now this is an author whose work I try never to miss. I love his Legends of Windemere series so of course I had to pick this one up!

***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS*** ***SPOILERS***

I have to admit that this is not this author’s best work. However I will give props to Mr. Yallowitz for trying to branch out into a new genre other than fantasy. After all, everyone needs to try something new once in a while.

I really liked that the majority of this book takes place at a sci-fi convention at a hotel. I love going to conventions myself and I know how fun they can be! We have main characters that are scattered around the hotel and are trying to get to safety. My two favorite characters are trapped together in an elevator and are ready to tear each other apart! They also find out that they have more in common than they ever thought they would.

Moving on, there are evil spirits/shadows that are taking over people’s bodies and forcing them to rip people to shreds. They can be killed like a normal human can, but they are tougher, stronger and faster than a regular human.

It’s vaguely hinted that children are immune to these shadows and it’s a little disappointing that this plot po reint is never explored. But it is shown that when the crazies die, these spirits/shadows flee the bodies.

The ending is just okay and I won’t ruin it for you here.

***END SPOILERS*** ***END SPOILERS*** ***END SPOILERS***

Back to what I said, this wasn’t this author’s best work, but I can see potential in him to write a better horror story than this one. Not everyone is going to like this story, but if the author tries his hand in horror again I’ll surely pick it up.

