Okay so this is a review of the book “Game of Thrones” by George R.R. Martin.  The book, not the show! 🙂

Let’s get this out of the way right now.  No, I haven’t watched the show.  A friend of mine loaned this to me and told me that I would like it.  And boy was he right!

 

It’s really hard to know where to start with this review because the book was just so long and the story was just so intense and engaging, but I’ll do my best here!  Also I normally do a little recap of the storyline but honestly this book is just so long and there are just so many characters that I can’t really pull that off with this book.

 

***SPOILERS***  ***SPOILERS***  ***SPOILERS***

 

Okay so the book mainly follows two major families in this world, the Lannisters and the Starks.  (No, not Tony Stark, but trust me, these characters are just as good!).  The Starks are led by Ned Stark and the story follows him and his children, all of whom are very interesting to read about.  Well except for Sansa whom I just wanna punch in the face repeatedly for being so naïve and annoying!  What’s interesting is that halfway through the book you think the entire series is going to concentrate on Ned, but he ends up being killed by a usurper to the throne.  So the character that we were all invested in as our main character is suddenly gone and we are left following the exploits of his children and the manipulative power hungry jerkwads of House Lannister. 

 

My favorite character has to be Jon Snow, Ned’s son that he had out of wedlock while he was off at war or on an adventure, I can’t remember which.  Jon is the black sheep of the family and he decides it is best for him to go north and pledge his eternal service to a group called “The Night Watch,” that guards a wall that is several hundred feet high that keeps something unknown from entering the lands to the south.  This really has me interested!  I want to know what is beyond that wall!  You don’t just build a huge wall like that and put towers and fortresses all along it for no reason!  There has to be something huge and evil beyond it and I’m anxious to find out what it is!

 

There are a few drawbacks to the book.  Number one, it’s just TOO long!  It’s over 800 pages and sometimes it can really drag in places and the dialogue can get a vulgar at times.  Seriously, very often they talk about cutting of men’s *ahem* you-know-whats and feeding them to animals.  Also the phrase “truth be told,” is overused in this book as well.  Once in a while it would be good to change it up just a little bit.

Another thing that is a drawback is that there are just too many characters to keep track of sometimes.  But the author made up for this by putting a list of characters and the different houses they belong to and little character descriptions of every character in the back of the book.  So it’s a little easier for the reader to keep track of who everyone is.

 

***END SPOILERS***  ***END SPOILERS***  ***END SPOILERS***

 

Okay this book was great!  It may be long, but it is worth it in the end.  The characters are awesome (Except Sansa), the story is engaging and keeps you on the edge of your seat eager to find out what happens next.  I’m sure the show on HBO is good, but I’m gonna stick with the books because I doubt the show can be as good as these books are!

